Christmas Dinner

Every year I cook the most epic Christmas dinner known to man (or woman)…

 

Enjoying a sausage

 

 It involves getting up at 3am, starting off with a nice glass of Asti or Advocaat, and peeling vegetables while I sit by the tree.
This is not my only Christmas ritual involving food. Another involves sitting by my best friend’s Christmas tree drinking Asti and eating her mum’s fabulous homemade sausage rolls. So much      do I love these sausage rolls that when I lived in Scotland I actually got her to bring a quantity some 500 miles on a visit so that I could have some. They ARE that good!
Anyway, back to the Christmas dinner ritual. The drinking begins at 3am as I said. After veg prep comes the meat prep. Stuffing whole onions up a turkey’s nether regions and then making up for the affront by massaging him with butter. 
I continue to sip various Christmas cocktails as the morning presses on. Christmas is the only time of year that I don’t mind going to bed after Midnight Mass at 1am and then getting up at 3am. It seems somehow worth it in the end.
Here I am in this photo with serious Flu. The sausage was the only thing I ate that year, and this is no exaggeration. Still I managed to cater for a family of 4 children and 8 adults. I am a Christmas cooking machine. Not even Illness can get in my way.

 

 

 

A typical menu will include:

  • Butter basted turkey.
  • Honey glazed ham.
  • Pork and cranberry meatballs.
  • Pigs in blankets.
  • Onion stuffing balls.
  • Honey baked carrots.
  • Roasted parsnips.
  • Sprouts with pancetta and thyme.
  • Steamed broccoli florets with cracked sea salt and black pepper.
  • Duck fat triple baked roast potatoes.
  • Homemade giant yorkshire puddings.
  • Homemade gravy from turkey fat.
  • Homemade bread of some variety.
  • Red wine and sultana braised cabbage.

And the list goes on and on and on….

I love to cook, especially the hearty fare that you get at this time of year. But the problem is that it is sooo very fattening.

Every year I put on about a stone over Christmas.

This year is going to be different, I am sticking to the skinny theme. Lets see how well this news goes down in the Wild household.

😀

I have been practicing though, so here is my recipe for skinny meat stuffing:

You will need:

Lean pork mince. 500g.

Dried cranberries. 25g.

A little rice flour.

Salt and pepper.

Firstly you will need to soak the dried cranberries in warm water for a couple of hours. Yes you could use fresh but previously dried are easier to locate (usually available in a super market) and have an intensely sweet flavor.

After they have soaked get a sharp knife and chop finely.

Add to the lean pork mince and knead with your hands.

Season the meat.

Roll into little balls or patties and sprinkle with a very fine dust of rice flour.

Bake on a sheet of tinfoil (shiny side up) for 25 mins (dependent on size).

A little 15-20g pattie will cost you about 50 Christmas calories and under 1g of fat (0.6 in my very lean pork mince).

This may seem a lot but it is about 1 third of the kcal content of my original recipe and after all it is Christmas!!

Happy eating!!!

😀

 

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

